In accordance with Joint Directive 21/2021 The Defence Aviation Safety Framework, the Defence Aviation Safety Authority (DASA) is responsible for enhancing and promoting the safety of military aviation.  This objective is primarily achieved through implementation of a Defence Aviation Safety Program (DASP) that supports compliance with statutory safety obligations and assures the effective management of aviation safety risks.

Within DASA, there is a Headquarters providing enabler support, the Defence Flight Safety Bureau-DFSB which provides the independent investigative capability, five regulatory aligned aviation safety directorates (Directorate of Initial Airworthiness-DIA, Directorate of Continuing Airworthiness-DCA, Directorate of Aviation Operations-DAVNOPS, and the Directorate of Aviation Engineering-DAVENG); and a new Directorate supporting Defence Space regulatory functions.